Free MMOs, expensive web games

I recently complained that Facebook web games are too expensive. A tractor was going for $25 but it seems that even Zynga decided that’s too much. In their new game, you can get an F-35 Lightning for a real bargain price – $10. Of course, tractors are a lot more useful as they cut your collection time by four.

So if tractors and planes cost double digits, I wonder how much a brand new fantasy MMO cost?

That’s easy. I just received a second special offer from RIFT (Planes of Telara). Guess what? They have slashed the box price from $50 to $5.

That’s not all, however. In their second, offer, I can prepay for an year and save 40% off their monthly fees. If I was a cynic, I would say they are trying to squeeze every buck they can before they shut it down. OK, maybe not a real shut down, but no new content either. I’ve been through it with Tabula Rasa.

Update: Just received a third email, this time from Funcom saying Age of Conan is now free to play with premium accounts available. Thanks but no thanks, too much instakill power in that MMO. I’ll get my Conan fix when the movie comes out in August

    • rift guide reviews
    • April 5th, 2012

    Thanks a lot for sharing this with all of us you actually understand what you’re talking about! Bookmarked. Please also visit my website =). We could have a link alternate arrangement among us

  1. November 24th, 2011
  2. December 7th, 2011
  3. January 11th, 2012
    Trackback from : Zynga Poker « Riftstalker

Leave a Reply

